Q. In which district Dr. Narla Tata Rao Thermal Power Plant is situated?

Solution: Dr. Narla Tata Rao Thermal Power Plant or Vijayawada Thermal Power Plant is located at Vijayawada in Andhra Pradesh. The power plant is one of the coal-based power plants of APGENCO. It is well placed between Ibrahimpatnam and Kondapalli villages. It was developed under 4 stages, with the project cost of Rs. 193 Crores and Rs. 511 Crores respectively. Again with an investment of Rs. 840 Crores 2 units were commissioned under III Stage. The seventh unit of 500 MW was commissioned in 2009. The station stood first in country during 1994 – 95, 1995 – 96, 1996 – 97, 1997 – 98 and 2001 – 02 by achieving the highest plant load factor. The station has received many prestigious awards from various organisations. The station has received Meritorious Productivity Awards for 21 consecutive years and Incentive awards for 12 consecutive years.

Leave a Comment